National Emergency Management Organization

" Preserving Life and Property"


Spread the love

The NEMO Toledo District Emergency Committee held an Appreciation Awards Ceremony and Banquet Thursday evening, January 25, 2018.

Keynote Speaker at the ceremony was Minister of National Emergency Management, Hon Edmond Castro. Other speakers included: Chair of the Toledo District Emergency Committee, Punta Gorda Mayor Fern Gutierrez; Toledo Senator, Hon Macario Coy; and NEMO Southern Regional Coordinator, Keith Emmanuel. Welcoming Remarks were delivered by Director of the Toledo Emergency Operations Center, Marion Nolberto; and the Vote of Thanks was presented by NEMO Toledo District Coordinator, Kenton Parham. Master of Ceremonies was Paul Mahung.

A total of seven (7) awards for the year ending December, 2017 were presented as follows: Emergency Volunteer of the Year, Jaqueline Burns from ‘The Dump’ Community; Village Emergency Leader Award, Marlene Alvarez of Trio Village; Emergency Response Team of the Year, Department of Agriculture, received by District Agriculture Officer Justaquio Tush; Emergency Operations Center (EOC) Participatory Award, Lyle Williams of the Medical Care and Public Health Emergency Committee; Emergency Leader of the Year, Floyd Lino, former Mayor currently with the Ministry of Education and Chair of the Housing and Shelter Emergency Committee; Emergency Team Spirit Award, Miguel Guerra of the Ministry of Works and Chair of  the Mitigation, Access and Infrastructure Works Emergency Committee; and Emergency Worker of the Year, Sherlene Bonnell of the Treasury Department and the Human Resource Management Emergency Committee.

The Appreciation Awards Ceremony and Banquet was held at the new NEMO Emergency Operations Center Building located at the old Machaca Forest Station Compound, just outside Punta Gorda on the Southern Highway.